RSS

REPORTED SPEECH

07 May

A) REQUEST AND INSTRUCTIONS:

CHOOSE THE CORRECT ANSWER:

1. Mother asked Sara ……… some fruit.
( buy – bought – to buy – buying)
2. My teacher told me ………. any noise.
( to make – make – not to make – making)
3. Teacher ……… Sami to do his homework.
( told – said to – says to – did say to)
4. Nabil asked Amina ……….. give him his camera.
( to – to not – to don’t – not)
5. My mother told me ……….. watch too much TV.
( don’t – to – not to – not )
6. Hind asked her little sister ………. the floor.
( sweep – to sweep – sweeping – swept)

7. “Please lend me your dictionary” Rachid said.
– Rachid ……… Houda to lend him his dictionary.
( said – wondered – wanted to know – told)
8. ” Clean the car,” said my father.
My father told me …….. clean the car.
( not to – if – to – that )                                                                                               9. Anwar told the little boy ……… the road.
( not to cross – don’t cross – won’t cross – didn’t cross)                                                                                                                               10. Karima ……Selma to lend her her book.
( said – wondered – asked – spoke)
11. Paul told Sally ………. wait for him.
( if – whether – when – to )
12. Lamia asked Mouna ………. her salt.
( pass – to pass – passed – passing)
13. The teacher ………. the students to open their books.
( told – said – spoke – talked)
14. The teacher told Hassan………. talk.
( don’t – not to – won’t – doesn’t )
15. Mrs. Alami told her child ……… with matches.
( doesn’t play – didn’t play – not to play – don’t play)
16. My brother asked me ………. the letter for him.
( posted – posting – post – to post)

B/ RE-WRITE THE FOLLOWING USING THE BRACKETS TO GIVE THE SAME MEANING:

1. “I’m preparing the trip,” Said Ramy.
(Ramy said…)
2. “It is raining outside.” ( He said that…)
3. “I don’t know how to get to the police station,” Said Ali.   (Ali said that…)
4. “I have never seen a lion,” Said Sami.
(Sami told me…)
5. “I travelled to Agadir by plane,” Ali said to me.                          ( Ali told me…)
6. ” We will visit the museum,”
(The tourists said that…)
7. “I was absent from school because I was late,”              (Ayman told us…)
8. “I don’t like coffee,” (I told him…)
9. ” I didn’t invite my cousin to my birthday party.” ( Ali told me…)
10. “We will help you.” (They told me…)
11. “We can’t answer the test.”
(The students told the teacher…)
12. “I went to the zoo last Friday,” Said Ahmed.
(Ahmed told me…)
13. “I think that the radio has stopped working.”
(The pilot reported that…)
14. “I’m hungry.” ( He said that…)
15. He said, “We heard the song on the radio, so we are going to buy the CD.”
(He told me)
16. He told me that his father had gone abroad.
( said to)
17. Selma said, “I borrowed some books from the library”  (Selma said that…)
18. Alice says to me, “I have a new car.”
(Alice told me…)
19. Ramzi told me that he had studied well.
(Ramzi said….)
20. Lyle says to me, “I’ll write an e-mail.”
(Lyle told us ………..)
21. Jamal said to Leila, “I’ve written the letter.”
( told)

C/ STATEMENTS:
 

CHOOSE THE CORRECT ANSWER:

1. She ……….. she was very happy.
( said – told – said to – says to )
2. Amal told me that she ………… the book.
( has read – had read – have read – reading)
3. He ……….. her, ” I’ll go to bed early.”
( told -said -says )
4. Sarah told me that she ………… to the market.
( go – goes – was going – is going )
5. Najat told me that she ………… the film before.
( has seen – had seen – have seen – seeing)
6. Selma ………… she had finished work an hour ago.
( told – say – tells – said)
7. The teacher told me that I ……….. a good paragraph.
( write – writing – have written – had written )
8. My teacher ………. me the exam would be easy.
( tells – told – says – said )
9. A friend told me about the new headmaster.
He ………. the man was very clever.
( said – talked – told – said me )
10. Mouna told me that she ……….. the film before.
( had seen – seeing – has seen – will see)
11. I ………. her that I had eaten the cake.
( reported – said – told – asked)
12. The pilot said that he ………. know how to get to the airport.
( don’t – didn’t – wasn’t – hadn’t)
13. He ……….. me that he would come early.
( said – told – says – to tell )
14. Pilots ……….. that their radios had stopped working.
( report – reports – reported – is reporting)
15. “We have found the sunken ship,” the diver said. The diver said that they ………… the sunken ship.
( had found – find – were finding – will find)

‘YES’ OR ‘NO ‘QUESTIONS
 

REWRITE THE FOLLOWING SENTENCES USING THE WORDS IN BRACKETS TO GIVE THE SAME MEANING:
 

Souad said “Did you enjoy the film , Salah?”
( Souad asked Salah)
Souad aske Salah if he had enjoyed the film.
1. “Have you ever seen a lion ?”
( Ahmed asked Peter)
2. Ilham said “Are you tired?”
(Ilham wondered)
3. “Are you going to buy this dress Siham?” asked Nadia. ( Nadia asked Siham)
4. “Do you go to work by bus?”
( I wanted to know)
5. “Can you speak Arabic?”
( I asked David)
6. Hamid said to Rasha, ” Do you want any help?”                    (Hamid asked Rasha)
7. “Is your mother cooking a meal?” Said Amal to Nora. ( Amal asked Nora)
8. “Have you tried any Chinese food yet?”                                                                                                                                (John asked Sally)
9. “Did you remember to buy some bread?”                                             ( Mother asked me)
10. “Can you lend me your book?”              ( Kate asked Sara)


 
1. to buy
2. not to make
3. told
4. to
5. not to
6. to sweep
7. told
8. to
9. not to cross
10. asked
11. to
12. to pass
13. told
14. not to
15. not to play
16. to post

B/
 

1. Ramy said that he was preparing the trip.
2. He said that it was raining outside.
3. Ali said that he didn’t know how to get to the police station.
4. Sami told me that he had never seen a lion.
5. Ali told me that he had travelled to Agadir by plane.
6. The tourists said that they would visit the museum.
7. Ayman told us that he had been absent from school because he had been late.
8. I told him I didn’t like coffee.
9. Ali told me that he hadn’t invited his cousin to his birthday party.
10. They told me that they would help me.
11. The students told the teacher they couldn’t answer the test.
12. Ahmed told me that he had gone to the zoo the previous Friday.
13. The pilot reported that he thought the radio had stopped working.
14. He said that he was hungry.
15. He told me that they had heard the song on the radio and that they were going to buy the CD.
16. He told me that his father had gone abroad.
17. Selma said that she had borrowed some books from the library.
18. Alice told me that she had a new car.
19. “I studied well.” Ramzi said
20. Lyle told us that he would write an e-mail.
21. Jamal told Leila that he had written the letter.

C/

1. said
2. had read
3. told
4. was going
5. had seen
6. said
7. had written
8. told
9. said
10. had seen
11. told
12. didn’t
13. told
14. reported
15. said

D/
 

1. Ahmed asked Peter if he had ever seen a lion.
2. Ilham wondered if I were tired.
3. Nadia asked Siham if she was going to buy that dress.
4. I wanted to know if you went to work by bus.
5. I asked David if he could speak Arabic.
6. Hamid asked Rasha if she wanted any help.
7. Amal asked Nora if her mother was cooking a meal.
8. John asked Sally if she had tried any Chinese food yet.
9. Mother asked me if I had remembered to buy some bread.
10. Kate asked Sara if she could lend her her book.

 

Comments are closed.